Blarney Players Who Played With Cork Minors

2017 - Declan Hanlon and Conor Power picked up Munster medals with Declan coming on as a substitute in all games of the championship so far this year.

2015 - Both Mark Coleman and Conor McCarthy lined out for the minor hurlers. Conor was not involved for their first game when they beat Limerick in Páirc Uí Rinn. Limerick won their qualifying game to meet Cork again,  which they won in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Conor lined out at corner back and Mark had a man of the match performance at mid field.

2012 – Barra O'Connell played a starring role at centre field for the minor hurlers that year, and were unlucky to lose out to Limerick. Barra was also on the panel the previous year.

2006 – Joe Jordan became the second Blarney man to play at centre back for the minor hurlers and picked up a Munster medal that year. They lost to Galway in the All Ireland series.

2004 – Mark McCarthy one of the most versatile players ever, Mark played at corner back on the minor team winning a Munster  title, but Cork lost out in the Semi-final to a Galway team that included Joe Canning.

2002 – Darragh McSweeney played at corner back, lost to Tipp in the Munster final and were beaten by Galway in the All Ireland series.

1989 & 1990 – Brian Sheehan had the most illustrious minor career being a dual player with the county teams. Brian first played with the hurlers in 1989 but were defeated by Clare in the first round at Killmallock, a team that included many of the famous players who went on the win 2 All-Irelands in 1995 and 97. In 1990 Brian played at wing back and won a Munster medal. In the All-Ireland final Cork drew with Kilkenny, this was the Curtin raiser to the 1st part of the famous double of 1990. Unfortunately Kilkenny got the better of Cork in the replayed final in Thurles. Also that year Brian played with the Cork Minor footballers, and were beaten by Kerry in the Munster final.
1973 – Denis Harrington (station road) was a panel member of the minor football team that year and won a Munster medal.  Cork lost out to Tyrone in the All-Ireland Semi-final.

1970 – David O Brien played in goal and won a Munster medal beating a very good Tipperary team by a single point, this win was achieved through the scoring exploits of Séance O Leary and the marvellous saves that Dave made that day to keep Tipp at bay. Dave reproduced all his excellent goalkeeping skills in the All-Ireland final that day in the hallowed ground of Croke Park and keeping a clean sheet in the process.  Earlier that year in 1970 Dave along with 4 other Blarney players Kieran O Connor, Donal Buckley, Harry Kennedy and Joe O Donovan won the Hearty Cup and the All-Ireland college’s titles with the North Mon. not bad going to win 2 All Irelands in one year.

1965 – Jim Coakley  played in the half forward line against Limerick and Cork were narrowly defeated by a Limerick team that included many stars of the 1973 team that won the senior all –Ireland.
1964 – This was the first time that Blarney had 2 players on the minor panel, Denis Hurley (groves, and granduncle of Colin Murphy) who played at centre back and John Mitchell (brother of Bernie and Jackie) sub goalie on the team that went on to win both the Munster and All-Ireland titles. John Mitchell went on to win an under 21 All-Ireland hurling medal and a county with U.C.C.

1941 – Tom Ahern won Munster and All-Ireland minor medals. Tom only resided in Blarney for a short time before moving to Dublin.

1937 – John P. Creedon  (father of Niall and Sean) won both a Munster and All-Ireland medal playing in the half back line. This was the first year that Christy Ring played for a Cork team.

1928 – Denis Lynch (father of current executive member Martin) lining out at full forward won a Munster and all-Ireland minor medal with Cork that year which was the first year that the minor championship was played. Another member of that team was Joe Lee from Glen Rovers and who was Peter Philpott’s grandfather. 

Back to top